Ekiti CIPM Branch Hosts 2023 AGM, Explores Technology’s Role in Personnel Management

The Ekiti State Branch of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Management of Nigeria (CIPM) on Tuesday convened its 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in accordance with its bye-laws. The hybrid event saw members participating both physically onsite and virtually from locations outside the state and Nigeria.

During the AGM, Dr. Akinjide Akinleye, mni, FCIPM, a respected fellow of the Institute, delivered an insightful lecture titled “Advancement of Technology and Personnel Administration: Interrogating the Nexus.” Dr. Akinleye emphasized the dynamic nature of technology and urged members to stay abreast of current trends in adopting technology for personnel administration, dispelling notions of automation replacing traditional job roles.

The outgoing General Secretary, Mr. Segun Adebayo, ACIPM, presented the branch’s activities report for the year 2023, showcasing the account of stewardship. Additionally, the outgoing Financial Secretary, Mrs. Adesola Adetayo, ACIPM, presented the financial reports, including a letter of compliance from the CIPM headquarters affirming proper financial management following an audit.

Mrs. Olusola Gbenga-Igotun, MCIPM (PS MoH&HS), the outgoing Chairman, expressed gratitude for the support received during her tenure, acknowledging members’ commitment and the efforts of the CIPM headquarters in enhancing the institute. Subsequently, she called for the dissolution of the executive members.

The highlight of the event was the election of new executive members tasked with leading the branch for the next term. Under the guidance of Electoral Officer Mr. Sola Ogunmiluyi, MCIPM, a retired Permanent Secretary in the Ekiti State Civil Service, an uncontested election was conducted in adherence to CIPM guidelines.


The newly elected officials include Mr. Bathlomew Akindele Ariyo, ACIPM, as Chairman, Mr. Emiloju Joshua Gbenga, ACIPM, as Vice Chairman, Mrs. Adesola Adetayo, ACIPM, as General Secretary, Dr. Olumide Gbenga Dada, ACIPM, as Assistant General Secretary/PRO, Mr. Olusola Ogunlade ACIPM, as Financial Secretary, Mr. Segun Adebayo, ACIPM, and Dr. Mrs. Oyeyemi Kayode-Ojo MCIPM as Ex-officio members.


The position of Treasurer remains vacant, to be filled through a bye-election.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected Chairman, Mr. Ariyo, expressed gratitude for the trust placed in him and pledged to build upon the successes achieved by the immediate past executives.

He emphasized his administration’s commitment to prioritizing member upgrading, capacity development, and other innovations aimed at enhancing the institute.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button